The Lost Fog Collection – Streek

image

I still haven’t reviewed all the original Cosmic Fog juices. I don’t know why but despite them being the corner stone of the original premium juice scene they have started to disappear from alot of stores now and given I have shinyitus I always seem to pass them by unless they come my way via a friend. I think Cosmic Fog new it was time for something new and brought us a trio of new juices in The Cosmic Fog Collection. I still haven’t actively gone out and purchased it but Zamplebox has been good to me and sent Streek my way. The profile for this snazzy new juice,

Hand-picked mountain grown Gaviota strawberries blended with just enough soft creamy Greek yogurt. The perfect balance of two of natures finest treats combined in a vape that is sweet, savory and creamy while never edging into the dreaded heaviness all vapers fear. Ladies and gentlemen, meet our new all day vape. 

Hold up…. Wait one cotton picking minute. Dreaded heaviness? Pfft. Didn’t anyone tell you, Assumption is the mother of all f*ck ups? I for one like a fat heavy vape, especially if it’s tied to a dessert vape. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be sucking a watermelon down a hosepipe but there is nothing wrong with a satisfying draw of weighty clouds to bring a bit of added richness. *snubs*

Let’s start again, I believe we have got off on the wrong foot. Assumptions aside the simple strawberry (Sorry,  Gaviota strawberry??) yogurt profile is still an excellent pairing of flavours but in its simplicity there has to be a rich depth of both fruit and cream including an adequate texture to pull it off. Cosmic Fog have some decent juices in their catalogue so I’m hoping this is another for the ‘Yes’ pile. Kiberry Yogurt holding the top spot apparently without equal, it’s all to play for.

Lid up – Well well, there is definitely something different about the strawberries in Streek. Whether it’s the tartness of the yogurt rolling into the strawberry I can’t tell but they smell fresh with a tart outer layer and a sweeter core. If I had to draw a picture of them based on the scent alone I imagine them being smaller than your usual British strawberry but brighter in colour. None of that has any real impact on the vape of course but aromas are powerful players in the sense stakes and I always imagine what a vape would look like when I do this element of the review. Their isn’t a distinct yogurt that jumps out but the warm scents and full flavour suggest something creamy is hidden inside.

Inhale -…. What the shit flaps was that? Apologies readers, I think I may have just been poisoned. Rarely have I recoiled in horror at a vape. I mean strawberry and yogurt should not be something to expect hidden nasties from but the first hit of Streek is a hideous mix of faint strawberry that’s been crop dusted in DNT. I’m rarely surprised by flavours these days, even bad ones but that chemical taste felt entirely unsafe for human consumption. I rebuilt my entire deck to be sure it wasn’t user error but no, all is not well in Streek. It does trail off after a few vapes (mainly due to the Juice drying up but it does settle down) and you are left with, not much. A strawberry flavour that is sweet and tart but what appears to be a larger flavour less entity that makes up more of the overall ratio than the strawberry and feels like a thick bed laying over the singular flavour. It’s a soft vapour and enough of it that it doesn’t feel fly away and airy but yeesh. Held at the apex the mystery flavourless element strikes and kills off the strawberry almost in its entirety.

Exhale – There’s no yogurt here, a dusty cream perhaps but without any sweetness or vanilla it’s just ‘meh’, and that was being generous. A dwindling tube of strawberry gets squeezed into its final remnants and at this point, clouds are irrelevant.

Conclusion – I think it’s safe to say this is not a juice I’d recommend and no challenge to Kiberry Yogurt. I’m actually flabbergasted as to how this is considered a yogurt vape and even more so that Cosmic Fog put their name to it. There are dozens of strawberry cream vapes out there infinitely better and you can try and dress it up with fancy strawberries as much as you like but this tastes like…. Well I don’t think I need to go into that any further. I don’t feel bad about not going out of my way to buy these from a store now and unless Zamplebox want to grace me with the rest then they aren’t on my list to acquire anytime soon.

Leave a comment